Tomato tart

We have had a rather trying week, and I felt in need of food that was super easy and quick to cook but which was tasty and oh-so-good to eat.  It may be the way I was brought up, where my parents would hold wonderful dinner parties that always seemed to feature beef wellington and vol-au-vents (It was the 80s after all!) but pastry to me always has a sense of something special about it. I rarely use pastry in my everyday cooking, but after tonight’s ridculously easy supper I think I have to make ready made jus roll a more regular addition to the shopping list.

I spread out the puff pastry and cut into squares. This I smeared with a good dollop of basil pesto and sliced tomatos. Baked in a hot oven (220 degrees celsius) until it looked cooked- about 18 minutes. The leftover pastry was used to make B-G jam tarts for breakfast the next day. Served with broccoli and corn and my favourite beetroot salad which is just diced cooked beetroot mixed with crushed garlic, spring onions and sour cream.

Good, easy and an excellent way to get more vegetables into a recalcitrant 6 year old. What’s not to love?