Fish stew

I made this up on the hoof. It was a dark and stormy night, we were back late from school and although I wanted to cook something fast, I wanted it to be a bit special for our weekend guests. A thick, warming fish stew seemed to fit the bill. Served with crusty bread and butter.

I sliced 1 medium brown onion, crushed two garlic cloves and sliced 2 sticks of celery. Added these to a thick casserole dish with a bit of olive oil and sauteed. I then added small diced potato (about two large baking potatoes, a tablespoon of mixed herbs,a tin of chopped tomatoes and a jar of herb pasta sauce. I simmered all this on low for about 30 minutes.

When the veg were all cooked through, I added 2 filets of salmon I had diced into cubes, 3 filets of cod, a pack of frozen prawns and some mussels I found pre-cooked and vacuum-packed at Aldi. I heated this all through until the fish was cooked, and served.

It was LOVELY. And I am planning to repeat it very soon.

