Chicken soup with Knaidlach

dsc01838

I have just spent 4 days in London and one of the things I love doing is shopping for items it is hard to get on the Island. I was pretty excited when I saw this box of kneidl mix. Kneidl are dumplings that are traditionally used in chicken soup. Growing up, we were lucky to regularly dine with family friends who made extraordinary chicken soup with dumplings- but the dumplings were very much made from scratch and were exquisite.They were light, puffy and fluffy.  I have never tried to re-create them, but bought this box to see if I could approximate them even if only slightly.

The box contained dehydrated kneidl mix. You just add beaten egg.

dsc01839

I love these free-range blue eggs. The shell is a very pale pastel blue and are produced by a breed called the Cream Legbar. I just love how pretty the colour is. It makes me happy.

You then mix the kneidl and egg together then roll into little balls.

dsc01840

I made chicken soup just my standard. I almost always make chicken soup from the leftovers from when we have roast chicken. Just celery, onion and carrots and the chicken meat.

dsc01843

This was the finished result.

dsc01844

The chicken soup itself was very good, but the dumplings were a disappointment. They were tough, stodgy and hit the stomach like cement. A bit of a fail really. I looked up homemade dumplings and it seems that the light and fluffy texture is achieved by whipping egg whites and folding them into the mixture so I will try that at some point in the future.

2 thoughts on “Chicken soup with Knaidlach

  1. These dumplings seem and sound quite different from the dumplings we usually had in chicken soup around here. Despite the ones you tried being a fail, your story made me crave for chicken soup with dumplings now 😀

    Like

    • The dumplings were not that great. I was quite sad as I was really looking forward to them! It inspired me to experiment though and to see if I can make some lovely fluffy dumplings….. this week perhaps!

      Like

Comment on this!

