Store Cupboard Vegan – Punjaban Keema Curry with peppers and peas

DSC00017

I am unable to walk or drive for a few days as I have hurt my foot which makes putting weight on it almost unbearable. I am considering upping my cool-quotient by telling people I have had a kite-surfing accident, but actually truth is I tripped over the kitty litter tray while vacuuming. So, for this week we have taken the opportunity to go through our store cupboard and eat what we have on hand, rather than going shopping for new ingredients. Our larder has to be seen to be believed…… it is bursting at the seams.

In our larder was a jar of Keema Curry base by Punjaban. I bought this jar when there was a Punjaban stall at Cowes Week a year or so back. I was naturally attracted as the sauce was gluten, dairy and nut free. But since then the sauce has been sitting in our larder, lonely and desperate for affection. The sauce needs nothing but whatever protein you are adding…. traditionally keema curry uses minced meat. I would have added lentils or soy mince, but neither were to hand and so I simply added sliced red and green pepper, onion and green peas.

DSC00019

DSC00020

This was really delicious. Possibly the nicest and freshest bottled sauce base I have ever had. There are no fillers or bulking agents in the base, the ingredients are simply listed as follows; tomatoes, onions, rape seed oil, ginger, spices, lemon juice, fresh green chillies, salt, cumin seeds. That is it.Ā  It was spicy, delicious, fresh tasting. I will certainly be trying Punjaban sauces again.

http://www.punjaban.co.uk/

One thought on “Store Cupboard Vegan – Punjaban Keema Curry with peppers and peas

Comment on this!

