”Mexican beans and rice”

P1050575

I suspect this is an utter travesty of a name for people who eat genuine Mexican beans and rice! This is becoming  a bit of a ‘go to’ staple for us on school nights. I basically heat up some olive oil in a pan, then mix cooked boiled rice with diced onions, celery, yellow peppers and a tin of red kidney beans. Cook it until warm and the vegetables are tender. For Baby-Gusto I take a portion out, then with the remaining add chilli, a teaspoon of cumin, chopped parsley, salt and the juice of a lime. This we eat with corn on the cob, warmed tortilla wraps, broccoli and sliced avocado.

B-G loves it. He likes to pick at the rice and beans at a leisurely pace. This evening I said he could have pudding when he was finished and he said ‘I am still eating my broccoli’. I am hoping against hope this means his fussy phase is over!

All too organic

All too organic

Comment on this!

