Hidden Veg Hummus – brussel sprouts.

P1070293

Baby-Gusto does not actually realise that hummus does not form its own food group. Lucky for me, even when he is being a food refuser I can still get hummus and cucumber sticks down him. Today I made a hummus in which I added baby brussel sprouts, and because we are out of tahini paste I used pumpkin seed butter. It tastes fantastic, mild, creamy. I omitted cumin and other spices as this was really designed for B-G, but those would definitely add something extra too.

1 can chickpeas drained

1 cup of frozen baby brussel sprouts, thawed

Juice of 1 lemon

1 tablespoon pumpkin seed butter or tahini

salt and pepper to taste

100 ml olive oil

50 mls water

Blend all ingredients and serve as a sandwich spread, for dipping or as a topping for hamburgers. I was quite pleased with this. More to the point, B-G hovered it up. Husband -Gusto goes a nasty shade of grey when he sees brussel sprouts, but I think I might manage to get this past him too.

Comment on this!

