Asian Salmon

I plan to return to blogging soon, but in the meantime, a favourite post from 2012…

The conversation in the Gusto Household this evening went something like this;

E-Gusta:                 I am going to cook Asian Salmon tonight

Husband- Gusto:    Great! I love your Asian salmon!

E-G :                      Well, it is for the blog really.

H-G :                      Great!

   [pause]

H-G :                      I think you should julienne the ginger rather than just slice it.

E-G:                      [silence]

H-G:                      Well, I think it would look better in the photos. For your blog

E-G:                      Okay

                   .. a little while later…

E-G:                     Okay, you can julienne the ginger, you are better at it than me

E-G  (again):       STOP! I have to take a photo!

H-G:                    [sigh.]

H-G:                    I really think you should put some of the ginger on the side, not  on the top of the salmon

E-G:                  Whose blog is this?!

H-G:                  [silence]

E-G:                  [silence]

E-G:                  [Adds soy sauce, sweet chilli sauce and ginger to salmon. Folds salmon into foil parcels. Cooks in oven at 200 degrees Celsius for 17 minutes]

H-G:                  [silence]

E- G :                [sips wine]

Oven Timer :       *DING*

Baby-Gusto:       Dinner! Dinner! Yum!

Photos. (Note- ginger on top).

Asian Salmon with asparagus and rice

4 thoughts on “Asian Salmon

  1. Absolutely!!!!!!! Mr Gusto, your input is obviously so very important and I feel that it made all the difference to the presentation of the dish! I am hoping that I shall be able to sample this exotic dish soon! x x

    Like

    • Hello Maiko! I hope very much that he enjoys it! The only key things I think are to use sweet chilli sauce (hot chilli seems to ruin it in my opinion) and to bake in foil for a fairly short time. I have been experimenting with shorter and shorter times, and if you like your salmon very lightly cooked you can even cook it for as little as 15 minutes on 200 Celsius. (Depending on the size and thickness of the salmon filet of course!).

      Do let me know what you think!

      Thank you so much for reading and commenting. I am planning to do a new post soon. xxxx

      Like

Comment on this!

