Baby-G’s Lunch

P1050470

One of the early food blogs I ever became addicted to was JenniferShmoo’s Vegan Lunchbox.  http://veganlunchbox.blogspot.co.uk/

Jennifer detailed the lunches she made for her young son and I admired her creativity and also the sheer range of vegetables Shmoo would eat. I recently ordered her book as I have suffered from a major inspiration fail with Baby-G’s lunches lately. He seems to eat the same things day after day, and I am reluctant to branch out, as he has become more fussy and picky. The only principle I insist on is that his lunch must contain a decent source of carbs, a protein, a vegetable, a fruit and a treat.

So, today he has:

Hummus sandwiches (cut into rabbit shapes in my current quest to be Super-Mummy)

Tomato

Orange segments and raisins

Alpro chocolate custard pudding.

Baby-G has fallen for oranges in a big way after reading The Very Hungry Caterpillar. The Very Hungry Caterpillar ate 5 oranges (or was it 4?). But this has proven useful in encouraging him to branch out of his apple/pear habit.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Very-Hungry-Caterpillar-Eric-Carle/dp/0140569324

If any readers have good (vegetarian preferably) recipes that very young children just love, please do let me know!

* Yes, I know tomatoes are fruits not vegetables. [blush]

Comment on this!

