Russian Salad ‘Olivier’

dolls,faces,Matroishkas,Matryoshka,Matryoshka dolls,Matryoshkas,nested dolls,nesting dolls,Photographs,Russia,Russian dolls,Russians,toys,wooden dolls,wooden toys

When I lived in Kiev I had a strict Friday evening post-work ritual. I would go to a nearby cafe and eat Russian Olivier salad with rye bread, followed by Chicken Kiev (yes, they really DO eat it in Kiev) all washed down with a margarita or two. If there were no friends or colleagues available to join me I would take a book and just relax and unwind and settle in to the weekend.

I was reminded of Russian Olivier salad and how much I loved it just recently when I was flicking through one of my (many) cookbooks. I am on a bit of an Eastern European cuisine fixation right now, and thought that making up a vast pot of Russian salad to eat with pumpernickel bread sounded as good a way as any to spend today.

Ingredients

1 large potato, diced small

1 large carrot diced small

1 cup peas

4 good sized pickled cucumbers diced small

3 tablespoons mayonnaise

Diced chicken or smoked sausage. (I used chicken)

I decided to google Russian Olivier salad, and discovered it has a romantic history which featured jealousy, plagiarism and betrayal. All that drama contained within one, rather scrumptious, dish.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Olivier_salad

P1070212

One thought on “Russian Salad ‘Olivier’

Comment on this!

