Seafood risotto

animals,aquatic,creatures,dining,food,marine,meats,nature,seafood,shrimps,wildlife

My idea of bliss is to stand at the stove stirring a risotto or a roux with a glass of wine in my hand listening to the radio. Due to regular day to day busy-ness, we have been eating haphazard meals, and cheese on toast and mystery meals dragged out of the freezer and so today when I dragged a packet of frozen seafoood mix out I immediately thought ‘seafood risotto’ and was delighted to give myself the chance to take a break.

The bonus is that Baby-Gusto loves prawns and squid so I knew that I could indulge myself, while making a meal that we all love.

This meal would be better made with fish stock, but we did not have any so I used vegetable stock instead.

Ingredients

2 cups risotto rice

half a medium onion finely diced

1 tablespoon olive oil

1 knob of butter

vegetable stock- made up in a litre of boiling water and a cup of white wine

1 pack mixed seafood. (The one we got was heavy on squid and light on prawns so i added half a pack of king prawns as well).

1 large fresh tomato diced small

fresh parsley

I suspect everyone does risotto slightly differently- I have even witnessed people make – perfectly edible- risottos [risotti?] by the absorption method! I do not have the courage to leave it like that, as I do not trust my timing, so I employ the ‘stand and stir constantly’ method. I just add the oil and butter to the pan, add onion and cook until translucent. Then add the rice and stir so that all the grains are covered by the butter and oil. Then I slowly add a ladle of stock at a time, and keep stirring until it is absorbed and continue in that vein. Near the end of the cooking I stir through the (defrosted) seafood so that it is warm. Once it is all ready I toss the diced fresh tomato through it, scatter with parsley and serve.

This is much better with proper seafood stock. Some time ago H-Gusto proudly bore home from Lidls a pack of frozen lobster – 2 for £5. The lobster themselves were not that great, poor things, but we boiled up the shells and reduced that mixture down to a very concentrated half a cup. The resulting risotto we had using that was one of the best things I have ever tasted. I am sure the same effect could result from prawn shells. 

dining,dirty dishes,food,forks,household,knives,meals,plates,utensils

*** Oh and yes, I still have to buy myself a new camera.

One thought on “Seafood risotto

Comment on this!

