Pork and sweet potato casserole

I have tried the Waitrose recipe cards twice this week, both times with some success. I wonder, how does one become a Waitrose card recipe writer? Or recipe tester for that matter? Mr Waitrose, if you are listening, pick me, pick me!  My rates are reasonable and I have a true dedication to – um – eating.

An earlier recipe was for ‘devilled’ chicken legs that used as a marinade worcester sauce, soy sauce, tomato sauce and apricot jam. It was strangely delicious, and I am already anticipating a Meat Free Monday post where I replace the chicken with tofu nuggets and use the marinade as a dipping sauce instead.

But this evening we had pork and sweet potato casserole. I changed a few things. The original recipe used sour cream, I used creme fraiche. I added celery as I cannot quite imagine any casserole without it, and I cooked it on a very low heat in the oven instead of on the hob.

Ingredients

Olive oil

850 grams diced pork leg (the recipe said 500 grams, but leftovers always have their appeal)

1 large onion diced

2 sticks celery

2 cloves garlic crushed

2 large sweet potatos, peeled and cubed

1 tsp ground cumin

1 tsp sweet paprika

150 ml dry white wine

400 g canned chopped tomatos

170 ml creme fraiche

lots and lots of fresh chopped parsley

In my beloved orange saucepan I sauteed the onion, garlic and celery. Then I added the cumin and paprika and the pork. After stirring and browning for 5-6 minutes I added the wine and the tin of chopped tomatos. I brought it to the boil, then transferred the saucepan to the oven at 100 degrees celsius. This then cooked slowly for about 2 hours- one hour of which was uncovered. I just cooked it until the meat had gone through that tough early phase and became tender.

Before serving I stirred the creme fraiche in, added chopped parsley and we had this with rice. Unusually, B-G did not touch it, but he was happy to point out that it was ‘owange’.

6 thoughts on “Pork and sweet potato casserole

    • I hope you enjoy it! I Next time I will definitely at least double the amount of spices, as it was very mild, but still very good. It was better the next day also as leftovers. 🙂

      Like

  1. This looks delicious – I think I will give it a go next week. I am trying to expand my repertoire of dishes, and have two new ones on the menu this week (a sausage, lentil and bean hotpot – a Good Housekeeping recipe – and a spiced chicken with apricots – adapted from a Mumsnet recipe).

    Like

Comment on this!

