A ‘F*** You’ to the Mainstream Press

E-Gusta:

I have been thinking about what I wanted to say about this issue, then realised that it had been expressed so beautifully here. A passionate, powerful response to the pressures on women to conform to an arbitrary standard of beauty.

Originally posted on You Speak Because You Can:

R ecently, Laurie Penny, a journalist I respect for her unwavering commitment to making women feel less shit, published a piece on Rebecca Adlington entitled ‘ Dear Rebecca Adlington, they’re the ugly ones’ . It was an open letter to Adlington, in light of the media coverage she was having for supposedly getting plastic surgery on her nose .

It was spot on, but as any masochistic Guardian-reading feminist must do, I turned to the comments. Obviously, OBVIOUSLY a mistake, but there’s something about Adlington’s public attacks that I find deeply upsetting, so I was kinda hoping for a reflection of my own feelings. Have a little read, fist pump the air, feel weird about fist pumping the air because I’m in a public library, then go back to writing my Victorian essay.

What a shocker, but lo and behold, ignorance reigned high in the world of the…

View original 630 more words

Comment on this!

